Javascript Menu by Deluxe-Menu.com
City of Easton

City Government - Elected Officials


To view the council member's bios click here


Mayor:
Salvatore J. Panto, Jr.
Mayor
spanto@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6610
Council Persons:
Ken Brown
Council Member
kbrown@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
Dr. Elinor Warner
Council Member
ewarner@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
Sandra Vulcano
Council Member
svulcano@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
James Edinger
Council Member
jedinger@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
Melanie Mauro
Council Member
mmauro@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
Dr. Roger Ruggles
Council Member
rruggles@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730
Controller:
Tony Bassil
bassilt@easton-pa.gov
484-634-0466
City Council Staff:
Thomas A. Hess
City Clerk
thess@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6731
Rita M. Messa
Assistant City Clerk
rmessa@easton-pa.gov
610-250-6730


Hours of Operation - 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

All council members can receive mail at One S. Third Street, Easton, Pa

Easton City Council regular meetings are every 2nd and 4th Wednesday and the Conference meetings are the previous Tuesdays.

Council meetings begin at 6:00 p.m.


History of Easton's City Government


Founded in 1752 by Thomas and John Penn Easton played a key role in the Revolutionary War and was the site of the third public reading of the Declaration of Independence. George Taylor whose original homestead is still located at the corner of Fourth and Ferry Streets was a signer of the document that became America’s birth certificate.

Easton was incorporated as a borough in 1789 and as a city on January 12, 1887. At that time it was a city of the Third class under the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

On January 31, 1972, Easton adopted the Mayor-Council Plan A (strong Mayor) form of government. The Mayor was the Chief Executive and Administrative officer. City Council consisted of five elected officials, served as the legislative branch of the city government. There were five members of City Council.

In November 2007 the voters in the city adopted a Home Rule Charter which provides for a Mayor-On-Council form of government. The Mayor continues to be full-time position but also serves as the Chairperson of City Council and is a voting member of Council. The intent is to build a system of professionalized, efficient and fiscally sound local government.

This new Charter also increases the size of City Council from 5 to 7 with three of the members serving as District Council Members. Initiative and Referendum opportunities were also provided for in the Charter which helps to achieve to honesty and accountability in our city government.

City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 6 PM. Meetings are open to the public in City Council Chambers on the sixth floor of City Hall.

For General Information:
Easton City Hall
1 South Third Street
Easton PA 18042
610.250.6600
610.250.6736 FAX

City Hall is located in the Alpha Building on Centre Square and business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 – 4:30 P.M.




Mayor | City Administrator | Elected Officials | City Council | City Directory | FAQs
Forms & Documents | City Ordinances